Same Old Skirt, Different Day

SWAK4869

SWAK4858

SWAK4885

SWAK4852

SWAK4897

SWAK4974

SWAK4977

SWAK4986

SWAK5017

SWAK5035

SWAK5022

If I’ve said it once I’ve said it a million times. Comparison is the thief of joy, but imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. I saw this Gucci photo below on Pinterest about a month or so ago and loved the style. I realized I had a very similar version of this yellow, plaid skirt I found thrifting years ago and decided to re-create a version of the outfit my way.

IMG_5278

I often see people look at magazines or photos and say things like “Man, I wish I could do that” or “I wish I had this outfit” and never stop to think that they can have it with a little creativity and patience. With that in mind, there are definitely a lot of one-of-a-kind items out there! I see pieces I absolutely adore all of the time and know finding an exact replica will be slim to none. BUT this doesn’t mean I can’t use my own creativity to find something similar and still put together an amazing outfit.

This sweater for instance, looks nothing like the one in the Gucci photo. BUT it is a very similar style and is just as funky! My sock and shoe combo is very different from what Gucci put together, BUT it does incorporate color and flows just as well with the tights. In the end, I have an outfit that is modeled after one I loved, but that has my own creative spin! Don’t just wish for things to happen, make them happen and reach for the stars! Even with something as everyday as your outfits. 😉

Affectionately, Audrey <3️

Photographs: The lovely Carrie Smith of SWAK Photography

Hair cut/color: Steven Lhamon. Leigh, Edwards & Co.

White Top: UAL, Rosie Assoulin // Sweater: Buffalo Exchange, Vintage // Skirt: Goodwill

Tights/Socks: Forever 21/Target // Shoes: Goodwill // Bag: Goodwill

Sunnies: Pre to Post Modern (Local Shop) // Earrings: ASOS // Necklace: UAL, Lulu Frost

2 thoughts on “Same Old Skirt, Different Day

Leave a Comment